Risk and Safety M. Sc.

You want to understand risks, learn how to make decisions under uncertainty and work towards safe technologies and environment? This interdisciplinary Master Risk and Safety prepares you for an exciting career as a risk and safety expert in a wide range of application domains.

The master program enables graduates to provide solutions to interdisciplinary challenges by combining strong analytical skills with a dedicated toolset to assess complex systems and a holistic perspective on decision processes in management and society.

The graduates will have acquired competences in the fields of probabilistic modelling and data analysis, reliability and risk assessment, safety management and decision making under uncertainty. They can utilize these competences to address real-life decisions in diverse domains of engineering and science. In their solutions, the graduates also account for organizational challenges and societal context.

What you'll learn for your future?

The management of risks is an essential task in engineering and society. Without demonstrating sufficient safety it is not possible to introduce new technologies, for example autonomous transportation systems or sustainable energy production and storage. Similarly, the assessment and management of risk is essential for the optimal design and operation of engineering systems and processes, ranging from management of the built environment under climate change to the optimization of maintenance processes for a fleet of aircraft.

More broadly, policy making for anthropogenic systems requires experts who understand risk and uncertainty and their impact on the outcomes of decisions, such as when developing, implementing and communicating strategies for dealing with epidemics or natural hazards.

The MSc prepares you for an exciting career as a risk and safety expert, for example in:

  • Manufacturers, e.g., in automotive, aerospace, medical technology
  • Transportation and infrastructure operators
  • Certification and safety assurance
  • Engineering consultancies
  • Government agencies
  • Technology start-ups
  • Insurance and reinsurance
  • Research and development

Study Information

Type of Study: Full Time
Standard Duration of Studies: 4 Semester
Credits: 120 ECTS
Main Locations: Munich, Garching
Admission Category: Aptitude Assessment for Master
Start of Degree Program: Winter Semester
Application Period: Winter semester: 01.01. – 31.05.
Required Language Proficiency: English
Tuition Fees: for Students from Non-EU Countries

The degree program is divided into 3 compulsory and 3 elective blocks:
- Compulsory blocks: Fundamentals, Risk & Society, Risk in practice
- Elective blocks: Risk methods & analysis, Risk management, Gerneral elective modules

The MSc enables students to specialize in specific application domains by offering a large portfolio of courses from a wide range of domains represented at TUM. The MSc program values project-based learning and encourages interaction with industry, e.g., through a dedicated module “RiskLab”.

This unique MSc program educates future experts to address these challenges. Graduates of this MSc program will be able to understand, assess and communicate risks and develop strategies for efficiently providing safety. To this end, the MSc program - held in english - combines a multidisciplinary set of courses on:

  • domain specific engineering expertise
  • stochastic modeling and computation
  • understanding risk perception and communication
  • methods and tools for managing safety and risks

Stay abroad possible, recommended in the 2nd and/or 3rd semester.

No previous internship is required.

Please apply through the TUMonline application portal and upload your application documents.

The following documents are required for the application:

  • bachelor certificate
  • english language certificate
  • letter of motivation
  • curricular analysis
  • curriculum
  • essay
  • curriculum vitae

Detailed information about the application process can be found on the ED Wiki

Risk and Safety M. Sc.

Sie wollen Risiken verstehen, lernen, wie man Entscheidungen unter Unsicherheit trifft und sich für sichere Technologien und eine sichere Umwelt einsetzen? Der interdisziplinäre Master Risk and Safety bereitet Sie auf eine spannende Karriere als Risiko- und Sicherheitsexpert*in in einem breiten Spektrum von Anwendungsbereichen vor.

Der Masterstudiengang befähigt Absolvent*innen, Lösungen für interdisziplinäre Herausforderungen zu finden, indem starke analytische Fähigkeiten mit einem speziellen Instrumentarium zur Bewertung komplexer Systeme und einer ganzheitlichen Perspektive auf Entscheidungsprozesse in Management und Gesellschaft kombiniert werden.

Absolvent*innen werden Kompetenzen in den Bereichen probabilistische Modellierung und Datenanalyse, Zuverlässigkeits- und Risikobewertung, Sicherheitsmanagement und Entscheidungsfindung unter Unsicherheit erwerben. Sie können diese Kompetenzen nutzen, um reale Entscheidungen in verschiedenen Bereichen der Technik und Wissenschaft zu treffen. Bei ihren Lösungen berücksichtigen die Absolvent*innen auch organisatorische Herausforderungen und den gesellschaftlichen Kontext.
 

Was Sie lernen

Das Management von Risiken ist eine wesentliche Aufgabe in Technik und Gesellschaft. Ohne den Nachweis einer ausreichenden Sicherheit ist es nicht möglich, neue Technologien einzuführen, z. B. autonome Verkehrssysteme oder nachhaltige Energieerzeugung und -speicherung. Ebenso sind Risikobewertung und -management für die optimale Gestaltung und den Betrieb von technischen Systemen und Prozessen unerlässlich, welche vom Management der bebauten Umwelt unter den Bedingungen des Klimawandels bis hin zur Optimierung der Wartungsprozesse für eine Flugzeugflotte reicht.

Im weiteren Sinne erfordert die politische Entscheidungsfindung für anthropogene Systeme Experten, die Risiken und Unsicherheiten und deren Auswirkungen auf die Ergebnisse von Entscheidungen verstehen, beispielsweise bei der Entwicklung, Umsetzung und Kommunikation von Strategien für den Umgang mit Epidemien oder Naturgefahren.

Der MSc bereitet Sie auf eine spannende Karriere als Risiko- und Sicherheitsexpert*in vor, zum Beispiel in:

  • Hersteller, z. B. in der Automobilindustrie, Luft- und Raumfahrt, Medizintechnik
  • Transport- und Infrastrukturbetreibern
  • Zertifizierung und Sicherheitsgewährleistung
  • Ingenieurbüros
  • Regierungsbehörden
  • Technologie-Start-ups
  • Versicherungen und Rückversicherungen
  • Forschung und Entwicklung

Informationen zum Studium

Der MSc ist in drei Pflicht- und drei Wahlblöcke gegliedert:

Pflichtblöcke: Grundsätzliches, Risiko und Gesellschaft, Risiko in der Praxis
Wahlblöcke: Risikomethoden und -analyse, Risiko-Management, Allgemeine Wahlmodule

Der MSc ermöglicht es Studierenden, sich auf bestimmte Anwendungsbereiche zu spezialisieren, indem ein großes Portfolio an Kursen aus einem breiten Spektrum von an der TUM vertretenen Bereichen angeboten wird. Das MSc-Programm legt Wert auf projektbasiertes Lernen und fördert die Interaktion mit der Industrie, z.B. durch ein spezielles Modul "RiskLab".

Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Credits: 120 CTS
Beginn des Studiums: Wintersemester

Dieses einzigartige MSc-Programm bildet künftige Expert*innen aus, die sich diesen Herausforderungen stellen. Die Absolvent*innen dieses MSc-Programms werden in der Lage sein, Risiken zu verstehen, zu bewerten und zu kommunizieren und Strategien für eine effiziente Sicherheit zu entwickeln. Zu diesem Zweck kombiniert das MSc-Programm - dass in englischer Sprache abgehalten wird - eine Reihe von multidisziplinären Kursen zu folgenden Themen:

  • Fachspezifisches Ingenieurwissen
  • Stochastische Modellierung und Berechnungen
  • Verständnis von Risikowahrnehmung und -kommunikation
  • Methoden und Werkzeuge für das Management von Sicherheit und Risiken

Auslandsaufenthalt möglich, empfehlenswert im 2. und/oder 3. Semester.

Ein Praktikum vor Studienbeginn ist nicht erforderlich.

Bitte bewerben Sie sich über unser Portal TUMonline.

Folgende Unterlagen werden für die Bewerbung benötigt:

  • Bachelor-Zeugnis
  • Sprachzertifikat auf Englisch
  • Motivationsschreiben
  • Studienverlaufsanalyse
  • Curriculum
  • Aufsatz
  • Lebenslauf